Boneless Hams

sausagemaneric
Frequent User
Frequent User

Boneless Hams

Post by sausagemaneric » Sat Jan 19, 2013 06:03

Have any of you guys made a good looking boneless ham? I have been goofing around with this for a few years. I think to do it right I need a tumbler, so the protein comes to the surface of the meat to bind the pieces together. Ideas?
V465
ssorllih
Veteran
Veteran

Re: Boneless Hams

Post by ssorllih » Sat Jan 19, 2013 14:54

sausagemaneric wrote:Have any of you guys made a good looking boneless ham? I have been goofing around with this for a few years. I think to do it right I need a tumbler, so the protein comes to the surface of the meat to bind the pieces together. Ideas?
There are hams that are boned out, cured, rolled and tied and smoked. like this: Image and they come out pretty good with the most basic equipment:Image. And there are boned and cured hams that are composites of many pieces that are cooked in a press and come out like this.Image
Which style are you seeking?
Ross- tightwad home cook
NorthFork
Frequent User
Frequent User

Re: Boneless Hams

Post by NorthFork » Sat Jan 19, 2013 21:42

There are hams that are boned out, cured, rolled and tied and smoked. like this: Image

Ross, I would like to try the rolled/tied/smoked ham-is the recipe posted? It looks great and I'm sure it tastes even better!

Pat
I've always tried to set a good example for others-but many times I've had to settle for just being a horrible warning!
ssorllih
Veteran
Veteran

Post by ssorllih » Sat Jan 19, 2013 22:36