collagen casings

inishta

collagen casings

Post by inishta » Wed Jan 28, 2015 19:11

In my naiveté, being far away from sausage casings I ordered collagen casings from the foremost supplier in the UK. Being a total novice I imagined that it offered the best solution without complication. I have subsequently found that it is not possible to link sausages in collagen casings, not a major problem, but every sausage that I have cooked........poached, grilled or fried, the skins have split. It has not been an issue as the sausage has held up really well under cooking and I am really pleased with the progress to date. I can't imagine that this is normal for collagen casings so are there any ideas as to where I am going wrong?

:cool:
redzed

Post by redzed » Thu Jan 29, 2015 08:00

Hello inishta,

Looks like you are learning by trial and error, but getting the right experience! There are so many different collagen casings and manufacturers, that is almost impossible to determine why some of your sausages are failing. More than likely you got the type for fresh sausages which are always thinner and therefore weaker. And they really can't take extreme temperature like the ones that are sold for smoking and extended poaching. And then there is the preparation. Some you need to soak (and I once saw one where it had to be soaked in a salt solution), and others, like those that come in those accordion tubes, can be stuffed without soaking.

Collagen casings also have a determined shelf life and need to be stored in a cool and dry environment. If not stored properly or old , there is a good change they will fail. But since you just got yours, that should not be the cause.

Sorry that I can't help you out, but what I would do is try and find out exactly what type of sausages those casings were designed for.
inishta

Post by inishta » Tue Feb 03, 2015 12:58