I'm a newbie...... Just a question?

xúc xích

I'm a newbie...... Just a question?

Post by xúc xích » Sun Jul 24, 2016 21:13

I've been smoking , and baking my Kransky..... Carniolan sausage (Slovene: kranjska klobasa; Australian English: Kransky, German: Krainer Wurst, Southern African English: Russian, Italian dialect of Trieste: luganighe de Cragno)........ Whatever the name.... They are good.
But, I'm getting a better result, keeping everything cold, ice water, etc.. Then poaching .
The last few times, I've been smoking them for 3 hours(With no heat), with Guava wood, until reddy, brown color.
I live at 15.5 degrees N, and the daily temp is 33c-36c(91F to 96.8F)..... So after 3 hours in the smoker they come out at 44c (111.2F) internal temp.
I then poach them in 90c (194F) water, until internal temp hits 68c (154F)....
They are awesome...... We are selling 15-20 Kg a week

Wait for it, here comes the question!!!

Can I use the beautiful smoky poaching water, in my next batch of Kransky.. IE: Adding icy smoky water, into the fresh batch? or am I cross contaminating, or it's something, you shouldn't do?

I'm thinking, this is a 'Yes' or 'No' question.
Many thanks, for all your past help.
Greg
Butterbean

Post by Butterbean » Mon Jul 25, 2016 02:16

My thought would be no since you could be carrying the old meat juices back to the new and this wouldn't be good.

It sounds like you are after liquid smoke to add extra to your sausages. If that is the case then why not capture the smoke before it leaves your smokehouse and make your own liquid smoke? Simple enough to do and you'd be free of any chance of cross contamination.
BriCan
Frequent User
Frequent User

Post by BriCan » Tue Jul 26, 2016 03:45

Butterbean wrote: If that is the case then why not capture the smoke before it leaves your smokehouse and make your own liquid smoke? Simple enough to do .
Curiosity has got the better of me .........

Any chance of enlighten me on this ..... thanks in advance
Butterbean