My first Saucisson project

Yohann

My first Saucisson project

Post by Yohann » Wed May 31, 2017 17:54

First of all hello everyone and a great thank you to everyone here. I've been reading a lot of things on this forum and spent a lot of time reading meatandsaussage.com you guys are awsome meat geeks!

I've seen people starting threads on there projects and comenting at each stage. I found that very helpfull as a complete beginner to see what went right or wrong and what were the probleme met along the way.

I'm a super beginner, I have only made dried duck breast, classic saussage (Saucisse de Toulouse, my hometown) and recently pancetta.

Making Saucisson is a dream and I'm not expecting to succeed at first try but I usually learn more at failing than suceeding. I bought almost all my ste up exept the meat that I will buy here in Vermont when I'll be ready. I'm aiming for the recipe of Saucisson de l'Ardeche as it's what I miss the most from living in the U.S. Please coment/criticize tell me if you would do diferently it will be very helpfull. I plan on starting the stuffing next week.

My set Up

It's a wine fridge. I chose this because it as two chambers if I ever want to make two deferent batches. (And also because I have some wine to store eventually, and it's easier to reasell...)

I'll add this humidifier outside with a tube going inside to get high humidity. (I know it's very cute)

I will plug the fridge and the humidifier on this humidity and temperature controler

I'll use the exact recipie of the Saucisson d'Arcdeche here. but I still wonder if I should use both T-SPX cuture inside and bactofem-600 mold for the outside? My reflex is yes, but if you guys can tell me.

My plans for temp/humidity is ans the temperature descibe:

Ferment 72hours and 68F at 90% humidity
Dry at 58F at 85% humidity untill 30% weight loss