dry, tough beef sausage

polka
Beginner
Beginner

dry, tough beef sausage

Post by polka » Mon Jul 03, 2017 00:22

Hello Folks

I'm new to sausage making, and while waiting for a grinder, I decided to use ground beef / mince from the grocery store.

To 5 pounds hamburger, which was 73 % meat, 27 % fat, I used 1 tablespoon AmesPhos.

Now I noticed that the burger when removed from the wrapper seemed almost like it was already mixed to that "ready to stuff" look and feel.

Using a product like this, how does one not over-mix the meat? When simmered in hot water, I pulled them when reached 158-163 f.

The texture was a bit firm and chewy with "broth" between it and the collagen casing. I assumed that the AmesPhos would help hold that water in the meat, making jucier. I don't think it did. Wrong product? Over mixed? something else?

I bet I won't have this problem when I get to grind my own meat / farce.

Is my thinking correct, or far off base?

Thanks for your consideration.

Rex
May all your projects taste great!
Bob K

Post by Bob K » Mon Jul 03, 2017 00:38

Rex-

Fill us in on what you are trying to make and what recipe you used. :?:
redzed

Post by redzed » Mon Jul 03, 2017 14:54

Normally beef contains higher amounts of myosin than in pork , that "glue that is extracted when we add salt and mix the ground meat. Beef also has a high water holding capacity and will absorb added water easily. Adding phosphates to sausage of the type you describe is not standard practice and not necessary. But when when you buy "hamburger" you never know what is really in it. You don't know the actual cuts used, freshness and the possibility of added water and preservatives.
polka
Beginner
Beginner

Post by polka » Mon Jul 03, 2017 22:41

In answer to BobK, I'm not sure which forum I found this, but was named "Rudy's All Beef Franks"

5 # ground beef
1 1/2 C. NFDryMilk
5 tsp salt
2 Tbsp Paprika
1 Tbsp AmesPhos
1 Tbsp Garlic
1 tsp cure #1
2 tsp onion powder
2 tsp pepper