My fresh Mexican Chorizo recipe

harleykids
Passionate
Passionate

My fresh Mexican Chorizo recipe

Post by harleykids » Mon Feb 26, 2018 22:33

I have been making fresh Mexican Chorizo for many years, and thought you all might like to try some yourselves.
This is my go-to recipe and is extremely tasty!
Pimenton de la Vera is what I use, and it makes a great addition to this chorizo!
Guajillo and Ancho chiles give it depth, flavor, and fantastic color too!
This is not a spicy chorizo, but you can add a few small hot chiles, or use Pimenton de la Vera picante instead of dulce.

Easy and VERY tasty, especially when mixed with things like eggs, refried beans, potatos, cheese, etc. Can also be added to chili for great depth of flavor and color!

For the meat, I usually grind pork butt or shoulder, but when I don't have time I have been known on a few occasions to buy ground pork from my local butcher to use for a quick batch (shout-out to Steve's Meat Market - DeSoto, KS!)

This is a really great fresh sausage to make, and takes me all of 10-15 mins if I don't grind fresh and use pre-ground pork from my butcher. I don't stuff into casings, I just make a 2"-3" thick chub from cling wrap and refrigerate or freeze. Casings are kind of a waste IMHO for sausages that contain vinegar, as the vinegar keeps the meat from binding together, which is proper for good chorizo (crumbly, not bound together)

I plan on trying a tomatillo or two in place of the vinegar, hoping that may result in a case-able fresh sausage. Tomatillo is very vinegary/lemon-lime tasing, so it may give me the vinegar flavor profile while still binding together firmly. Then I will have a grillable chorizo link!
I will be trying this out in the next couple of weeks so I will be ready for Summer grilling!

Here you go:

Mexican Chorizo

1 lb ground pork, beef, chicken, or turkey (raw)
3 dried Guajillo chiles
3 dried Ancho chiles
3 cloves fresh garlic, crushed
2 dried bay leaves, crumbled