Salami problems

Saltedtyme30
User
User

Salami problems

Post by Saltedtyme30 » Fri Nov 27, 2015 04:06

This is the original post:

Hey all, I have been doin charcuterie and fermenting sausages for awhile. I'm new to the chamber and mold stuff, I follow ruhlmans book, and I'm running 55 degrees f and 65-70 percent humidity with a circulating fan everything set up perfect but I cut into one of my soppresata links and it didn't have that funk smell like salami does. It smells acidic and my ph is 4.8-5 spot on. Maybe age for then 4 weeks? I'm using bacto frm 52, dq number 2, dextrose, and prime cuts of pig. I tried to introduce mold 600 and start mold to balance out levels but mold won't grow on anything. Please let me know thanks guys.

Chuckwagon, hey man I wrote a question on a blog ! Thanks
Last edited by Saltedtyme30 on Mon Dec 14, 2015 17:34, edited 2 times in total.
Philip Anthony
redzed

Post by redzed » Fri Nov 27, 2015 08:09

Welcome to the WD forum Salty!

Good question, but we need more info: How long has the soppressata been curing? What was the starting pH and the ending pH before you transferred it into the curing chamber? As far as the mould, not growing, increase the humidity to around 80%. Your setting of 65-70% might be OK in the latter stages of drying, but a bit too low at the start. You also mention your circulating fan. How often is it running and is it aimed directly at the sausages? It may be too much velocity in the chamber. And you didn't smoke the sausage by any chance did you? Let us know and we'll try to solve the puzzle.

redzed
Saltedtyme30
User
User

Post by Saltedtyme30 » Fri Nov 27, 2015 18:58