Need help with brine!!! smoking first picnic sholder

king kabanos
Frequent User
Frequent User

Need help with brine!!! smoking first picnic sholder

Post by king kabanos » Sat Sep 21, 2013 19:04

i just bought a bone in pork shoulder bone in picnic and want to smoke it and then put it inro a hot water bath method then shower with cold water BUT dont have a brine recipe. I want to inject the picnic and then place it in the leftover brine. it is a 10 and half pound shoulder picnic. Can anyone please share a recipe for a good brine for that amount of meat. Also i am thinking of removing the bone from the picnic and making it boneless but dont know if i should since it is my first time. should i remove it or no?
el Ducko
Veteran
Veteran

Post by el Ducko » Sat Sep 21, 2013 19:19

You might try CW's Pork Loin recipe http://wedlinydomowe.pl/en/viewtopic.ph ... =pork+loin
if that's to your liking. Look it over. ...looks pretty straightforward.
:mrgreen:
Experience - the ability to instantly recognize a mistake when you make it again.
ssorllih
Veteran
Veteran

Post by ssorllih » Sat Sep 21, 2013 21:55

Removing the bone will reduce the chance of bone sour and also reduce the curing complications. After it is cured it can be rolled and tied before smoking.
Ross- tightwad home cook
Chuckwagon
Veteran
Veteran

Post by Chuckwagon » Sun Sep 22, 2013 00:02

Daniel, ol' pard,
Ross is right. Remove the bone for better results. See this link: http://wedlinydomowe.pl/en/viewtopic.php?t=6769

Say hey, "the Duck" dug up a good ol' recipe of mine. Thanks Duckarooney! It will work like a charm. Heck, I've even used it on DUCKS! Heh, heh, heh! :shock: (woo-woo my fanny!) I just might use it again real soon on ANOTHER DUCK! :twisted: (aarrgh!)

Best Wishes,
Chuckwagon
Last edited by Chuckwagon on Mon Sep 23, 2013 19:43, edited 1 time in total.
If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, it probably needs more time on the grill! :D
el Ducko
Veteran
Veteran