A Corona Thanksgiving

Butterbean

A Corona Thanksgiving

Post by Butterbean » Mon Nov 23, 2020 18:31

The corona isolation left me short handed as we had plans on everyone helping in the kitchen but this all fell through leaving me to do everything myself. I guess this could be viewed as a good thing because I can take credit for everything since everything turned out so good.

What I made was a cubed pork and venison for schnitzel, patty and link breakfast sausage, Redzed's newest venison pork kielbasa, smoked venison Cajun sausage, venison/pork Krakowska, jerky and a modified version of Big Guy's summer sausage. To those who didn't know him, Big Guy was a Canadian and the only member I've met in person. He was a heck of a nice guy, chemist by trade, and a heck of a meat processor and a valuable source of knowledge. If you ever see one of his recipes on the board its safe to say its worth making because he made some fine products. His character is validated by Kentucky giving him the honorary title of Colonel for his work with charities. I think all who knew him from this board know his absence has been a loss to the group.

Anyhow, the pandemic has slowed my workload down somewhat so I've been able to take some time and do some hunting and with these deer I began work toward filling the freezer.
ImageImage

I've learned over the years its best to pre-cure the meat a few days before processing. My impatience often dictates that I don't do this but on this batch I pacified my impatience by making some fresh sausages while the meat was curing.
ImageImageImageImage