New to Salami - 1st try

rgauthier20420
Frequent User
Frequent User

New to Salami - 1st try

Post by rgauthier20420 » Mon May 12, 2014 21:30

Hello everyone. I'm new to sausage making and I'm jumping right in. I'm choosing Salami mainly because I love cured meat and I wanted to try something simply spiced. I've got a 3 lbs pork shoulder and I'm picking up some fat back this evening. I've got the spices, grinder, and insta cure #2. I'm using proportion of live culture yogurt for my starter culter at 1 tsp per lb bloomed for 12 hours or so.

I'm also a home brewer so I've got a temperature controlled chamber already, and I'm using a bowl with a towel tied to the top rack and wicking water up and a fan to control humidity. It's sitting at a nice 87% RH with this method right now.

I'll upload picture as I go, but please any advice to offer feel free to. I look forward to this community!
Chuckwagon
Veteran
Veteran

Post by Chuckwagon » Tue May 13, 2014 07:17

Hi rgauthier,
To avoid disappointment and give you the highest possibility of success in fermentation, may I suggest that you use a professionally developed starter culture? A culture used for dairy products is quite different than those used for meat. Stan Marianski wrote:
"Although lactic acid bacteria are naturally present in a sausage mass, the quantity and qualities are hard to predict. In most cases they are of a hetero-fermentative type and that means that they not only produce lactic acid by metabolizing carbohydrate, but also create many different reactions, which can produce unpleasant odors and affect the entire process".