Looking forward to learning from Folks!

Bentley Meredith
User
User

Looking forward to learning from Folks!

Post by Bentley Meredith » Thu Oct 13, 2022 17:52

Hello, my name is Bentley. I have been making fresh sausage and Dry Aging Beef for about 20 years. To me, easy basic stuff that just requires some knowledge.

But I have ventured into Charcutier, scarier then dating if you ask me, and those were some terrifying years!

So I ate some Soppressata a couple of years ago and it was the best salami I have ever eaten. Being a Cheap Screw, $13-$20/lb. for this meat is unacceptable, so my journey begins. The reason I never pursued Charcutier was I assumed you needed (maybe I am going to find out you do) special fermenting and curing chambers. I came across an ad for the UMAi bag process and decided I would give that a try.

I bought there kit and have been as careful as possible to be very sanitary. The meat is I guess currently fermenting. It was started last night about 9pm EDT. A photo of what it looked like then and now. It says 48-72 hours in a 65°to 75° oven, and mine has stayed about 68°so far. That is about it. I have no clue whether to go 48 or 72, and since I guess 72 wont hurt I will do that. They all weighed out at between 30 to 32oz. They state 6-8 weeks in fridge at 38, but I opted for the 70mm casings. I do not like Whimpey size salami, so I am wondering if it is going to be a lot longer in the fridge because of that? We will shoot for that 40% reduction and see what happens. I am a pessimist, and am pretty certain this is goin to fail, but I only have about $65 into it and if it does, I figured that was a number I could deal with. If it works, I will end up with about $120 worth of meat!

All suggestion are greatly appreciated. One concern I have is to much fat in it. I used 8lbs. of butt and added 2lbs of fat trim. Am I going to regret that?

Bentley Meredith
User
User

Re: Looking forward to learning from Folks!