Bologna with Bactoferm

Rick
Passionate
Passionate

Bologna with Bactoferm

Post by Rick » Sun Dec 15, 2013 14:07

I'm a bologna lover at heart, and not so much into the "hard" sausages which I understand do use the cultures. Thus, I have zero experience with any type of Bactoferm culture.

I was wondering if any of you might have a recipe you could post for bologna that uses a fast acting Bactoferm in place of the Fermento, that would result in a good quality authentic tang to the finished product.

Many thanks in advance for the recipe.
Butterbean

Post by Butterbean » Sun Dec 15, 2013 15:11

Have you considered trying some encapsulated citrus acid?
Rick
Passionate
Passionate

Post by Rick » Sun Dec 15, 2013 15:41

I've considered using the acid, but I'm wondering if the bacteria culture would give me a more true form of fermentation taste, and one that I could adjust by the type of culture used, than just adding a chemical?

I realize that the art of fermented sausage making is a whole separate art from making fresh sausage. The hard sausages, although I've never made them, are something that doesn't have a big following in my home, and its for that reason that I've never gotten into making them. We're more of a lunch meat and fresh type of sausage family I guess! LOL

I know that there are some very dedicated culture users on this forum as well as formulation developers, and thought that maybe someone might have developed a tangy bologna recipe they'd be willing to share that does indeed use a fast acting culture.

I've read also that in order to make fermented sausage, it involves controlled humidity and temperature cabinets etc. which some folks have gone to great lengths to make and use.

As for my equipment, the best I have would be a 3'x3'x 2' tall Styrofoam box that contains a light bulb on a dimmer switch and a pan of boiling water for humidity. This I use for my bread dough.
Bob K

Post by Bob K » Sun Dec 15, 2013 16:17

Rick
Passionate
Passionate