My first batch and everything looks good!! I Think!

cajuneric
Frequent User
Frequent User

My first batch and everything looks good!! I Think!

Post by cajuneric » Thu Mar 01, 2018 23:02

Hello Everyone,

This is my first attempt at this wonderful craft and I wanted to share some pictures with you. I'm hoping I can get some additional advice as I know that there is much I still need to learn. After waiting for a few final pieces of equipment to come in I was finally able to get going. Some might say I went all in on my first batch but I tend to have a all or nothing type of attitude. We started with 20 kilos of salami (Spicy Italian Cacciatore and Finocchiona) I fermented them for 36 hours at 71F 85% with BLC 007 (using .5% dextrose. At the 36 hour mark I tried to test using ph strips and that was ridiculous so I cooked some up and tasted it. Seemed tangy enough and from what I read 36 hours is plenty for BLC007. (as a side note I ordered a ph meter from Hanna so that I could get better readings in the future!!)

Dropped the chamber temp to 55 and added some whole muscles that I have been curing for the past 2 weeks. I added 4 Lonzino, 9 Coppa, 1 pancetta, 1 Bresaola, 4 duck breast, and a really crazy pancetta wrapped bresaola I made using transglutaminase.

One thing I immediately noticed was my humidity spiked!! It went to almost 98% in a few hours. Thankfully we are using the Eva Dry 1100 and it is keeping the chamber at a good 83% at all times. I haven't had to use the humidifier at all yet.. The temp is being controlled by a Johnson Control and the humidity is being controlled by the InkBird unit. I have one from Auber on order (as I like the fact that it can be controlled wirelessly. Hoping to get that this week) Here are a few pictures and I would love to hear any advice possible. Where I live this art does not exist. No one is doing it so I am all alone in my venture!!