New Starter Culture for Fermented Sausages -- Flavor of Italy

cajuneric
Frequent User
Frequent User

New Starter Culture for Fermented Sausages -- Flavor of Italy

Post by cajuneric » Fri Nov 08, 2019 00:15

Has anyone had any experience with the new starter culture from The Sausage maker. It's called Flavor of Italy. I've been playing with it for the last 4 months with incredible results. here are the specs:

l. Sakei
p. Acidilactici
s. Carnosus
s. Carnosus (Subs. Utilis)
Fermenting range 75f - 90F
Humidity 90%
Bio-protective Culture (against Listeria)
Can handle pH range 4.7-5.3 (recommended pH target to be 4.9-5.2)

I'm loving this new culture. At 90F the culture ferments incredibly fast and at 75F it slows down a bit and develops color and flavor a bit better. I found that at.5 dextrose and 90F I was hitting target pH by 18 hours and at .4% dextrose and 75F I was hitting pH target by 24-30 hours. GREAT FLAVOR from this culture!!! I made a video about it if you want to check it out..

https://youtu.be/Pyp8Qu8BEWw

Cheers,
Eric
ewanspeirs

Re: New Starter Culture for Fermented Sausages -- Flavor of Italy

Post by ewanspeirs » Fri Nov 08, 2019 16:14

Eric - love your youtube channel :) it got me hooked.

What recipes have you tried with this new culture - i' like to give it a shot on my next batch
cajuneric
Frequent User
Frequent User

Post by cajuneric » Sat Nov 09, 2019 14:17

Hey ewanspeirs, Thanks. I've made Geona, Calabrese, and sopressata. Nice culture. Great flavor..
redzed

Post by redzed » Mon Nov 11, 2019 04:21

Hi Eric,