Another Beginner :D

FrederickMüller

Another Beginner :D

Post by FrederickMüller » Sat Dec 19, 2020 09:17

Hello :)

My name is Frederick and I’m fairly new to this whole dry curing thing. I’ve found a YouTube channel where an Italian guy is making dry cured meat in his fridge and I though why not try the same. It only took me about 2 hours to get started.

Basically, I had no idea what I was doing.
I already read heaps of articles and I learned quite a lot about how to do things better next time. :D

I’ve got a few questions and I hope you could help me with it.
The videos I’ve done are the following:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KuS5P7G ... sM&index=2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yma9_aG ... sM&index=8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJEOSRU ... M&index=19

As English is not my mother language it’s a little difficult for me to explain exactly what I’ve done.

I did all recipes (amounts of meat, salt etc) as in the video, I only made different casings because I couldn’t get the ones in the video. I’m from Germany and atm I am studying in Hungary, but unfortunately I don’t speak the language very well. Maybe I’ll ask a friend to help me find the right casings.

For the 2 Capicola and the 1 tenderloin, I’ve used pantyhoses as casings. (Many layers)

For the other tenderloin I pressed it into a Naturin casing. I don’t know if its the right name for it. It is like a casing made out of collagen, so its breathable (water can go in and out).

And for the 2 Sausages I also used the Naturin casing.
In the Naturin casing, I made many holes with a needle to make sure the air goes out and everything is well compressed

I let everything hang at 20C° room temperature and 85% humidity for like 1.5 days and then put it in the fridge.
My fridge varies around 5-6.5C° and 70-85% humidity.