Question about acidification of dried sausage.

jcflorida
User
User

Question about acidification of dried sausage.

Post by jcflorida » Fri Mar 30, 2018 20:35

This is my first attempt at making dried sausage. I prepared the mince following Len Poli's "Favorite" Salami recipe except using B-LC-007 culture. I fermented at 21°C and 90% humidity for about 28 hours. The pH dropped from about 5.8 to a little less than 5.2. I then reduced the temperature to 13° and humidity to 80%. I (perhaps naively) expected the pH to stabilize. However, at about 40 hours the pH was a little less than 5.1, after a week, dropped to about 4.85 where it appears to have stabilized. This is about the pH expected for complete consumption of the sugars in this recipe (0.27% dextrose and 0.4% corn syrup solids). So, my question is: Is the "final" pH controlled by the total quantity of sugars or temperature profile, or did I screw something else up?

Apologize in advance for this rambling post.

John
Butterbean

Post by Butterbean » Fri Mar 30, 2018 22:22

Generally speaking its like making wine and the fermentation will follow the amount of available sugar but then the type sugar makes a difference also. A rule of thumb is for every gram of dextrose put in a kg of meat you can expect it to drop 0.3 points so the dextrose alone in that recipe should have dropped it 0.81 points putting you at 4.99 then there is the corn syrup solids which would also add to the drop. So I don't think you screwed up. JMO, so don't take it to the bank.
Bob K

Post by Bob K » Fri Mar 30, 2018 22:50

John-