Braunschweiger Leberwurst

Albertaed
Passionate
Passionate

Braunschweiger Leberwurst

Post by Albertaed » Fri Jan 29, 2021 22:08

This is my first attempt at liverwurst. Its Marianski's recipe using 50/50 pork liver/pork jowls.

Salt 1.8%
Pepper .2%
Nutmeg .5%
Ginger .5%
Caradamom .3%

Scalded liver for 10 minutes.
Semi froze liver.
Poached jowls @ 190F to IT of 156F.
Ground liver and jowls separately through 3mm plate.
Emulsified liver and jowls separately in food processor.
Mixed liver, jowls, spices and 10% broth in food processor.
Stuffed into Beef Middle and poached @176F to IT 157F.
Cold water bath for 10 minutes and into the fridge.

Picture shows it not completely cold. It could have been slightly stiffer but it is easy to spread and tastes deelish.

For a slightly stiffer paste should I ease up on the broth or maybe add a bit of skin?

Has anybody had any luck freezing liverwurst?

Albertaed
Passionate
Passionate

Re: Braunschweiger Leberwurst

Post by Albertaed » Fri Jan 29, 2021 23:48

Update: Now that it’s totally cooled the consistency is perfect. But I’m still wondering if it can be frozen.
fatboyz
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast

Post by fatboyz » Sat Jan 30, 2021 01:22

I vac pac and freeze mine all the time.
Scogar
Passionate
Passionate

Post by Scogar » Sat Jan 30, 2021 03:14

I freeze mine as well. And if you add skin, make sure to research how long to boil and emulsify as last year I didn't cook mine long enough and it was gritty since the skin wasn't completely softened to emulsify into the blend
Scogar
Passionate
Passionate

Post by Scogar » Tue Jan 11, 2022 23:23